Is it Just a Welcome Mat?

There are people who describe themselves as over thinkers (you know who you are LA) and I am guilty of that at times so that I go into analysis/paralysis. I am an intelligent adult that has to make many decisions each day, but when recently I decided that my house needed two new welcome mats I started in on the overthinking thing. I don’t know if I am afraid that someone else won’t like them or think they were not needed, too much money, ugly or all of the above. When is a welcome mat just that a welcome mat?

I wanted a good looking one that did its job and was environmentally friendly, is that so hard? I saw one that was bright and made out of recycled flip flops, that covered one of my requirements but it looked a little too beachy for my suburban farmhouse.

I like the coir ones with a cute print or saying on them so I found a few but the colors were not just right and the sayings were stupid. I mean really who cares what it says, you are wiping your feet on it? They are the first thing your guest sees before stepping into your house and I feel it should start things off on the right foot (no pun intended, but pretty good) so my taste is on display for all to see and I do not want to be found wanting. See what I mean! Who cares what anyone thinks about my taste in doormats, do I judge people by theirs, the answer would be no.

I think I am trying so hard to make sure I spend my money thoughtfully that I can’t make a decision. This is ridiculous. I will go out and get them this week and stop putting it off until I find the perfect one as really is there a perfect doormat? Well that is just a little trip through my mind to enjoy with a glass of wine, just be thankful it is a short trip and you don’t have to step inside because after all I don’t have the right doormat!

brown and black welcome bulletin board

Photo by rawpixel.com on Pexels.com

This entry was posted in decor, perfectionism, shopping, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Is it Just a Welcome Mat?

  1. Melissa says:

    This sounds like me! 😅
    A simple decision takes way to time and consideration. It drives me crazy that I do this.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment