Water

As I write this I have a tall glass of cold water to drink. I was thinking of one of my action plans, to cut back on added sugar and I realized that I wasn’t drinking enough water which helps with hunger and cravings. I have found if I have a cold glass of water to reach for then I am less apt to over eat, at night I use naturally flavored selzter water (no calories) it gives me a whisper of sweetness and carbonation. I don’t particularly like the taste of my tap water but I have a Brita pitcher in my fridge which I always keep full and it is great. This time of year it is harder to do this as it is cold and I have to make a real mindful effort to drink enough. Your body needs water, I don’t get sick as often as other family members and I am not as tempted to eat the wrong things.

Now that we have discussed how important water is to your body let’s discuss how important it is to the environment. Yes, it is a renewable resource but it is unpredictable and with climate change a real issue.It is a resource that we must protect. Don’t buy bottled water unless you absolutely have to! There are numerous reusable water bottles that you can use over and over. I know you can recycle plastic, but it also takes water to recycle. You don’t want to waste water in your house either. Whenever I have to run water because I am waiting for it to get hot I try to get a bucket, watering can or pan to catch most of it for use at another time. The shower is a big waster in the morning so I get a bucket to catch the cold water until it gets warm and use it to water my plants and container gardens in the summer. I garden quite a bit and this year I would like to install a couple of rain barrels to help with the watering. I mulch and plant drought resistant plants when possible and don’t water my lawn unless it was just planted.

I have a car wash here in town that recycles their water so if I have to wash my car this establishment is my choice. You use less water using a car wash than doing it yourself, hard to believe but it is true. I am afraid I am still trying to convince other family members of this, though.

So, as a recap I consider water one of the most important resources we have.  It protects and preserves other resources like trees, plants, our own bodies and it soothes the soul. Houses cost more if they are near water even if you can’t drink it and can just look at it. People love the restful nature of a lake, the wildness of the ocean and the ever changing nature of a river.

My action plan continues and while I may have to go to the bathroom more I am living everyday healthier and hydrated.

This entry was posted in Brita, everyday life, habits, resolutions, Uncategorized, water. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment